Mataro LEN Trophy winners

The first time a Spanish team clinched the LEN Trophy and also for the first time the team won a European title. La Sirena CN Mataro completed a historic weekend at home where the Final Four of the LEN Trophy battle saw them coming out on top after Vouliagmeni was edged in a thriller: 5-6. A close match throughout Mataro was able to hit the 4th period's only goal after the score was tied 5-5 with just 1 quarter to play therewith securing the LEN Trophy in both historic and dramatic fashion. Szentes captured the bronze medal topping Uralochka Zlatoust 18-15 on penalties in another thrilling contest.

LEN Trophy Final Four
Mataro (ESP)

Friday, semifinals

Hungerit-Szentes (HUN) vs Vouliagmeni (GRE) 9-12
La Sirena CN Mataro (ESP) vs Uralochka (RUS) 16-12

Saturday, Finals

Bronze medal game: Szentes vs Uralochka 14-14, pen: 4-1
Final: Vouliagmeni vs Mataro 5-6

 Share this