Gouda (NED) to host Water Polo Olympic Qualification Tournament

The city of Gouda in the Netherlands will host the FINA Women's Water Polo Olympic Games Qualification Tournament to take place from March 21-28.

Twelve of the world's best women's teams from the five continents will battle it out for a spot in the upcoming Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro. The participating teams were selected through Continental Qualification Tournaments or Continental Championships. The host country of the Olympic Qualification Tournament (NED) is considered to be a representative for its own continent.

The groups' composition is as follows:

GROUP A: Japan, Spain, South Africa, Canada, Greece, USA
GROUP B: France, Italy, New Zealand, Russia, Germany, Netherlands

A total of 42 games will be held during the eight-day competition in Gouda, with a preliminary phase running from March 21 through March 25 and the quarter final on March 26. The semi final and final rounds will respectively be hosted on March 27 and 28.

The matches' schedule is available here.

The four best teams in Gouda (gold, silver, bronze medallists and fourth place) will secure a spot for the Olympic Games.

*Four teams (Australia, Brazil, China, Hungary) have already secured a place for the Olympic Games by winning their respective Continental Championships. Brazil, as Olympic Games host, will represent the Americas.

Source: FINA.

 Share this