© David Damnjanović

Savic, Krikorian coaches of the year

Following extensive voting by members and supporters, the 2015 coaches of the year were announced by the World Water Polo Coaches Association early January. Serbia head coach Dejan Savic and USA women head coach Adam Krikorian were awarded with the inaugural title. On Thursday Dejan Savic received his trophy from the hands of World Water Polo Coaches Association founder Dragan Jovanović and LEN president Paolo Barelli in Belgrade ahead of Serbia's group match against France at the 2016 European Championships. Krikorian will receive his award later.

Dejan Savic (40) is coming off an incredibly successful year with the Serbian men's national who dominated international competition winning both the FINA World League, in Bergamo, Italy, as Serbia qualified for the 2016 Rio Olympics, and in August won the 2015 World Championships in Kazan, Russia.

Adam Krikorian (41) completed a unique feature with the USA women's team who are now reigning champions of every international competition they participated in. In 2015 Team USA won the Pan American Games in Toronto, Canada, the World League in Shanghai, China and to round it up also the World Championships in Kazan.

Krikorian instructing his team during the 2013 World Championships in Barcelona.

 Share this