© Gertjan Kooij / Beeldboot

Pijetlovic, Bianconi LEN European Players of the Year

Serbia's centre forward Dusko Pijetlovic and Italian top scorer Roberta Bianconi were named 2015 European Players of the Year by European Aquatics Federation LEN. The election in water polo saw Pijetlovic, Champions League winner with his club Pro Recco, and World League winner and World champion with Serbia in 2015, became a winner with an overwhelming difference receiving 72,8% of the votes, while joint 2nd-ranked Ioannis Fountoulis (GRE) and Serbian team-mate Andrija Prlainovic got 9,1%.

In the women's competition Bianconi edged out Dutch rising star Maud Megens. The Italian, coming off a bronze medal win in Kazan at the World Championships, and Euro League title with her club Olympiacos, won with 31,8% while Megens finished 2nd receiving 29,5% of the votes.

The best water polo players receive their respective awards in Belgrade at the European Championships kicking off on Sunday.

LEN Awards 2015

Water polo

Dusko Pijetlovic (SRB)           72.8%
Ioannis Fountoulis (GRE)      9.1%
Andrija Prlainovic (SRB)        9.1%
Maro Jokovic (CRO)                4.5%
Josip Pavic (CRO)                    4.5%

Roberta Bianconi.

Roberta Bianconi (ITA)        31.8%
Maud Megens (NED)           29.5%
Rita Keszthelyi (HUN)          20.5%
Catharina vd Sloot (NED)    13.7%
Gulia Gorlero (ITA)                4.5%



2008: Peter Biros (Hungary)
2009: Filip Filipovic (Serbia)
2010: Vanja Udovicic (Serbia)
2011: Stefano Tempesti (Italy)
2012: Miho Boskovic (Croatia)
2013: Denes Varga (Hungary)
2014: Filip Filipovic (Serbia)
2015: Dusko Pijetlovic (Serbia)

2008: Danielle De Bruijn (Netherlands)
2009: Iefke van Belkum (Netherlands)
2010: Sofia Konukh (Russia)
2011: Alexandra Asimaki (Greece)
2012: Anni Espar (Spain)
2013: Jennifer Pareja (Spain)
2014: Maria Garcia (Spain)
2015: Roberta Bianconi (Italy)

 Share this