San Giljan celebrates 9th Malta league win, 4th double

The Maltese summer competition was concluded with San Giljan crowned as champions in what turned out to be a successful summer also having won the Knock-out competition the week before. San Giljan celebrated their 9th league championship with the last match against Neptunes just a formality given that they enjoy a 5-point lead over 'the Reds'. Neptunes won 11-8 but San Giljan still won the league. Neptunes' defeat at the hands of Sliema last Wednesday effectively meant that San Giljan were assured of their overall victory with a match to spare. It has been 20 years since San Giljan won their last league.

That year, in 1995, they became the first Maltese club to win the treble crown, having also won the Knock-out competition and the Winter League. In that season, San Giljan had remained unbeaten for 32 games, a record that has not been matched. The only other club to win the three competitions in the same season is Sliema, who managed the feat three times in 1996, 1998 and 2009.

Malta summer competition
Premier league

Saturday 29-08:

Neptunes vs. San Giljan 11-8 (1-1, 6-1, 3-3, 1-3)
Neptunes: A. Borg Cole, N. Lanzon 1, M. Castillo , M. Stellini , T. Agius 1, I. Krapic 2,  S. Camilleri 4, J. Camilleri, J. Abela, P. Biros 2,B. Lanzon, S. Xerri de Caro, C. Mercieca 1.

San Giljan: J. Sammut, P. Borg 1, A. Galea , B. Vapenski 5, G. Molina,  M. Zammit 1, K. Galea, Da. Zammit, B. Plumpton, A. Cousin 1, P. Fava, Di. Zammit 1, D.

Premier league championship final standings:

1. San Giljan Crystal Finance - 34 pts
2. Neptunes Grimaldi - 32
3. Sliema Frank Salt - 14

Source: Malta Independent.

 Share this