5th FINA World Men’s Water Polo Development Trophy

Launched in 2007, the FINA Water Polo Development Trophy gathers teams from nations in Africa, the Americas and Asia where it is still not a major sport, seeking to develop water polo on a global level. Twelve teams that do not usually participate in FINA water polo events are selected and invited to compete in this event, organised every two years.

The Kuwait Swimming Association organised three editions (2007, 2009 and 2013) while Dammam (KSA) hosted the 2011 edition. Teams from Algeria, Chile, Colombia, Egypt, Guatemala, Jamaica, Indonesia, Iran, Kenya, Korea, Kuwait, Morocco, the Netherlands Antilles, Peru, the Philippines, Puerto Rico, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Uruguay and Uzbekistan have taken part in the event.

The 2015 edition of the FINA World Men’s Water Polo Development Trophy will be organised in Tehran (IRI) on May 24-29.

Check out all participating nations, the draw and tournament schedule on the English tournament website.

Click here for the tournament website.

 Share this