© Henk Swinkels

Imperia LEN Trophy winner

The Russian side of Ugra Khanty-Mansiysk seemed the hot-favorite to clinch this year's LEN Trophy crown after a finals game 1 victory against Imperia, in Italy defeating the home team 12-13. But the Italians proved to be determined. On Wednesday in Russia, veterans Mercedes Stieber and Elisa Casanova lifted their team to a 5-7 win, just enough for the overall victory. Therewith the LEN Trophy stays in Italian hands after last year's win by Rapallo Nuoto (now Pro Recco). It is the first continental trophy for Imperia, while Khanty-Mansiysk lost the final series for the second time after 2010. Italian teams have clinched eight of 13 titles in this competition since the debut in 2000.

Women’s LEN Trophy 2011-2012

Final series – game 2 in Khanty-Mansiysk, Russia

Ugra Khanty-Mansiysk (RUS) vs. RN Mediterranena Imperia (ITA) 5-7 (2-2, 1-1, 2-3, 0-1)

Ugra Khanty Mansiysk: Protsenko, Gerasimonva, Sorokina, Zubacheva, Isakova, Zubkova Anna 1, Shishova, Vjlegjanina 2, Timofeeva, Gritsenko, Chebotova 2, Zubkova Anastasiia, Kurganova. Head  coach: Vladimir Zakharov.

Mediterranea Imperia: Gorlero Giulia, Solaini, Borriello, Gorlero Gloria, Stieber 1, Emmolo, Ralat 1, Russo 1, Risivi 2, Bencardino, Drocco, Pomeri 1, Casanova 1. Head coach: Marco Capanna

Referees: Vasileiou (GRE)/Taylan (TUR)
Delegate: Racine (SUI)

Aggregate: 18-19


Previous winners

2000 Gifa Palermo (ItA)
2001 Skif Moscow (RUS)
2002 Gifa Palermo (ITA)
2003 Vouliagmeni NC (GRE)
2004 CC Ortigia (ITA)
2005 CC Ortigia (ITA)
2006 Honved Budapest (HUN)
2007 Roma PN (ITA)
2008 Roma PN (ITA)
2009 Sthurm 2002 Chekhov (RUS)
2010 Ethnikos Piraeus (GRE)
2011 Rapallo Nuoto (ITA)
2012 RN Imperia (ITA)

Pictured: Imperia's Elisa Casanova during the 2012 European Championships in Eindhoven, The Netherlands

 Share this